Digging In

There’s no turning back now.  I had to see just how bad my “good kind” of water damage was, all things considered, not too bad!  Kind of.  I started digging into the layers and layers of gross goo on the aluminum roof to see if I could get down to the actual skin.  It has two possibly three layers on top of the aluminium of this nasty shit that I had a hell of time scraping off with a putty knife. I was able to peel a bit off around the leaky part and around the front patch.

This is the leaky bit
This is the leaky bit

Did I mention the ginormous front patch? It looks like someone ran the poor front of the trailer into a tree and then slathered on a bunch of black tarish stuff then slapped on a piece of aluminum and then used some sheet metal screws to jam the whole thing together.  The screws aren’t even screwed into anything so there’s a growing space between the patch and the original skin, it’s cool though cause they covered it in EXTRA weird goo so it’s definitely solid (have we agreed on a sarcasm font yet?).

The entire middle of this is patch. Feel free to forward to Coca-Cola though for sponsership
The entire middle of this is patch. Feel free to forward to Coca-Cola though for sponsorship.
Well shoot!
Well shoot!

I also found two other rando covered over vents as well, those are not leaking currently but it’s only a matter of time right?

With all of these atrocities going on over just 14′ I think I might just replace the whole damn roof.  Not actually that difficult if I can just figure out where to purchase the aluminium (if anyone knows the answer to THAT holla atcha girl). Or I can always just patch, patch and patch and re-slather with more weird goo (that’s what she said).

 

Leave a Reply

